yummy victory

PP has turned into a picky eater for a while, and it is frustrating me to no ends. Blame it on O for this eating behavior. I have tried my best to make kid-friendly dishes, and gauged his interest to tweak here and there, adding the right amount of nutritional values in his diet. There were days I just let him go to bed with no food after he refused to eat dinner (please don’t judge — I am not a mean mom, I let him drink milk before bed to make up for the loss of calories and calcium). I just hate the bored look on his face as he slowly and purposely picking bits and pieces of food and forcing himself to eat. Errrrhhhh, that’s the thing that triggers and challenges my patience!

Peanut, on the other hand, is very gung-ho about food and would eat pretty much whatever I put in front of him. He is known among my family members as the trash-can, and garbage disposal. I know, these terms of endearment are a bit too much but they are with love. Knock on woods — I hope he will continue with it and not turn into another picky eater. That day, if it comes, I will resign from my role as the cook in the family and let them, the father and two boys, tend for themselves when it comes to meals.

Today I picked up a recipe to make such a delicious yet simple meal for the boys. Peanut had half of the first one in his mouth, with the second on his hand, then asking for the third. PP, as always, was very reluctant to try. I ignored him and moved along with dinner with Peanut. Then I think PP was hungry seeing us eat our food so deliciously (I deliberatedly over-exaggerated my acting to lure him in) and in a bit later came closer asking to try one. Before I could get a second serving of rice, PP finished five meatballs — that’s a lot for a picky eater like him. Both boys had the glaze sticking to the edges of their mouths, and on their fingers. I let them licked the extra glaze off from the bowl. It was that good!

So it was a triumph, a victory, and a good recipe to add to our menu. And it was made with love!

I wish that I was the one who put together this recipe of beef meatballs with pineapple soy glaze, but apparently, as you know I am not good at cooking, this recipe must come from someone else. That someone else is Ms. Holly of Beyond Kimchi, whose recipes are healthy and easy to follow. I have admired and followed her for years; and of course I also picked up a few dishes from her blog to add to my own menu when I want some Korean food. Thanks, Holly!

9 thoughts on “yummy victory

  1. Hi,
    What a wonderful mother you are trying so hard to feed your children a fresh, nutritious homemade food! I was going through similar experience just like yours; one child was a picky eater but the other one ate pretty well except a few when ther were little. They all turned out to be a good eater now.

    I am so happy to hear that your boys likes my meatballs. Thank you for posting. And I think you are pretty good cook just by looking at the picture of meatballs you made.

    Holly

    1. I am hoping this one guy will grow out of his picky eating phase or else i will have a hard time feeding him once he goes to kindergarten. I will try to use many of your kid-friendly recipes this summer now that the warm weather is here and i get t make more frequent trips to the market.

      Thanks for sharing so much of your own home cooking soul!

  2. Lần sau thử dùng sốt BBQ Đại Hàn coi thử ảnh có thích hông. Chuyện này là thường tình ở huyện á mẹ PP. Hai đứa nhỏ nhà anh cũng vậy đó trong khi đứa lớn thì cái gì cũng ăn hết.

      1. Dạ em Trang ngày xưa học ở Bates rồi làm ViệtAbroader đó chị 😀 Em đã ghi lại recipe rồi, tuần này em sẽ làm thử. Chúc chị và gia đình cuối tuần vui vẻ.

      2. thì ra là em, vì em không để nguyên tên nên chị tưởng ai, sorry em. Giờ thì chị biết rồi, nhìn kỷ email của em mai mốt em comment thì chị sẽ biết.

        Em chừng nào dọn qua SF hả em?

Comments are closed.