Life with two boys (8/14/14)

We are running a few errands for O as he is returning to work next week after two and a half months of home-cation. I figured since it will take all day to run around so I prepared and packed healthy lunches along. The boys love love love having a picnic in the back of the car. Such a fun novelty for them!

It is our lives at its best 🙂

20140814-145326-53606242.jpg

20140814-145327-53607128.jpg

20140814-145328-53608017.jpg

Mid-night hunger

Watching Korean drama and variety shows at night has become my habit, a bad one for that matter. The worst part of all is when they show segments of food and that is the part when K-drama/shows have the upper hand to my stomach, and also my low-carb no-late-night-eating regiment.

IMG_3750.JPG

That reminds me, we had a very good Korean meal last Friday in Schaumburg, a suburban town right next to Chicago O’Hare AirPort. You know it is a good place when families speaking Korean flocking into the restaurant and also buzzing in the lobby area waiting to be seated at 9 p.m. The food was great and the spread of banchan alone was worth the money and the wait. The servers were refilling our side dishes so often that I felt bad about wasting. As a result, I ate them all. The seafood tofu soup was just right, with the right amount level of heat that balance the softness melt-in-your-mouth tofu. I wish that I did not chomp down on too much of the side dishes to save room for the soup. If it were in MN, I would have asked for a doggy bowl to bring the soup home for next day’s meal.

Anyway, Koreana Restaurant in Schaumburg, off of North Salem Drive, is highly recommended by me, in case you are in the area and could not beat the god-forsaken traffic to get into Chicago. Even O agreed that it was the best thus far. He even said that he would not mind driving 6+ hours to here for the food.

Unlike the Friday before when we tried another Korean outpost (name: Korean Grill) in Woodbridge, VA, after reading good reviews on Yelp. We arrived late and I wanted some spicy tofu soup so I browsed Yelp. The place was not too far from the hotel where we stayed so I figured that since it is close, got good reviews, and how hard can a kimchi tofu soup would be made to get it wrong? Darn it, I should not trust glorious praises from yelpers who are not familiar with authentic Korean food. I should have known and learned my lesson. We paid an arm and a leg for bad food that make us sick and a major lost-for-words disappointment. When we talked to the owner about the dishes, he was offended that we even dare to criticize him. WTF? How the hell did the place get all good reviews just baffle me, utterly baffled! I am not a picky nitty gritty foodie but even I cannot tolerate the shit they served then you know how bad of an eating establishment it is.

If you are in Woodbridge, VA, and crave for Korean food, stay away from Korean Grill, avoid this place at all cost. I will soon put my review on Yelp about this place because it is a sham, I tell you, it’s a sham. Consider this as my public service announcement!

Now if you don’t mind, I have to go to bed hungry. So much for a mid-night hunger!