Popovers recipe (trial test)

I have always wanted to make popovers. Always!

My first encounter with popovers was when living in Amherst, MA. There was a restaurant right in the heart of town, Judie’s Restaurant, boasted their fame of popovers with apple butter. Without knowing what popovers were, we asked the waiter for a basket after seeing other customers devoured theirs. We had it with the slow-roasted lamb shanks that melt in the mouth. That’s when we were hooked on popovers and ordered them each time we visited Judie’s.

Then I forgot about them for awhile after moving away from Amherst and baking intimidates me; it requires precision and patience, which I lack both. Until yesterday when I flipped through the channel and came upon Food Network program with Melissa d’Abrabian’s show, in which she featured popovers and made it seem so easy to do. So I was motivated!

Adapted from Melissa d’Arabian of Food Network to make 12 popovers.

First trial:

4 eggs, room temperature
1.5 cups of milk, (take one cup and heat up for 30 seconds to make lukewarm then mix back with the rest)
1 cup of whole wheat flour (whole wheat flour is denser, if use regular all-purpose, then add 1/2 additional cup)
4 tablespoons of melt butter (3 for the batter, 1 for coating the muffin tin)
3 tablespoons of sugar
1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon powder
1 teaspoon of salt
1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
and I use a muffin tin because I don’t have popover tins.

Heat the oven to 400F degrees.

Whisk the eggs and vanilla extract until smooth, add melt butter, cinnamon powder, salt, and sugar, whisk again until smooth. Add flour to the wet ingredient until the batter is smooth with no lump. Rest the batter for 10 minutes.

While waiting for batter to rest, and the oven temperature has reached 400F, coat muffin tin with butter, then put in oven for 5 minutes. Take the tin out, then pour batter into it, filling half-way each slot, then put it back into the oven for 35 minutes.

Do not open the oven until the popovers are done (golden brown and dry). Then remove the tin from the oven, let the popovers cool down.

-/-

Alright, that was all in theory, I now put in my end results and analysis!

My popovers became flopovers after taking them out from the oven, and I know why.

First, the batter was a bit watery, hence the popover could not rise high enough because the extra milk content held it down. The texture is a bit too custardy/eggy for my taste. Last, the outside was a bit burn/dark compare to other popovers I see on the internet.

However, I had the right amount of sugar, vanilla extract, and cinnamon.

Lessons learned: Use 1 and 1/4 cup of milk, three eggs instead of four, heat the tin for three minutes instead of five, and bake for 30 minutes instead of 35.


They sunk, instead of pop.


The boys still love eating them. I appreciate their eagerness.

And while the pops over were baked, I snapped a few with my iPhone.
IMG_5883.JPG
10 minutes after putting in the oven

IMG_5886.JPG
20 minutes after putting in the oven

IMG_5894.JPG
and one of my customers is waiting for his treat.

5 thoughts on “Popovers recipe (trial test)

  1. Popunders? 🙂 I’ve never heard of it until I read about it here. Keep popping over a few more. Next time I’ll will be waiting like your little guy. Have a good weekend chi..

  2. They look a bit like Yorkshire puddings but with a longer ingredient list!
    Love them but it’s tricky getting them exactly right, inflated, airy and the perfect ratio crunch/doughy…

    1. I think it is a derivation of Yorkshire pudding but probably the early american settlers did not know what to call so they just made up the name popovers because of how they look when baked.

      My sons don’t like the bland kind so i modified with a bit of sweet and cinnamon to make it as snacks for them. The original popover i had was not sweet at all, and it went well with roasted lamb shanks.

Comments are closed.