Have a bun-tiful holidays season!

I woke up with a big bang migraine headache because of lack of sleep. Instead of just lounging on the couch, I made my way to the pantry and brought out all my baking stuff.

Today I made baked chicken char siu pao buns for the boys. This time I added some condensed milk to the dough. Wow, a hint of sweet really added to the over all flavor of the buns. It turned out, the boys only like to eat the outside buns and not the filling. What a bummer because my version of chicken char siu is as good as the pork.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/878/44116/files/2014/12/img_5828.jpgAfter second proofing, then a coat of egg wash and some toasted sesame seeds.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/878/44116/files/2014/12/img_5830.jpgShowing off the filling here. The bun is soft and sweet, just like the ones they sell at Chinese bakeries.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/878/44116/files/2014/12/img_5831.jpgI was ambitious and made five cups of flour. Then found out that was too much and I don’t have enough baking sheet to place them, so each bun looks like a giant for the first batch. But the second batch I made each smaller.

Have a wonderful holidays season, everyone!

4 thoughts on “Have a bun-tiful holidays season!

  1. Happy Holidays nha chị. Lâu rồi em không vào đây. Chị chào anh O và ôm PP và PN giùm em. 🙂 Big hugs.

Comments are closed.