My October, Day 23 — the step I take as a parent

The narrative for October 21 post was updated. Then I also updated the October 22 post in case you did not see it.


Mr. First-Born redeemed himself today, coming home with a Blue Ticket (which is a good-behavior ticket) to surprise me. He was so ecstatic coming home and asking me to wait until he prepare a surprise, and called me to come up while I was waiting in the basement.

We added one privilege back to his enjoyment, which is hanging out with Mr. O after dinner (they are dancing to youtube music videos right now upstairs while I am downstairs writing this post for you!) Mr. O even bought a cupcake for him to celebrate. I don’t know whether or not our incentive system works, but so far so good, and that PP is learning strategies to control his impulses and behaviors at school.

Call me a neurotic mother, but I even signed up for an online course entitled Developmentally Appropriate Child Behavior, just so that I am more equipped with the language to use and strategies to help him. I am taking a community course in November in Child Development. It’s a eight-hour course to get a better understanding of raising children in our modern and technology-driven society. Hopefully I will see some light in helping PP to become a better version of himself, and that he can function better without being too impulsive, which is currently too distracting for him. Academically, he is doing very well; it’s the social emotional skills that he lacks.


and then an unrelated topic…

In an effort to balance my healthy body, I tried to eat less red meat. Today’s lunch choice was this rather bland soba noodles in chicken broth with tofu and bok choy. It was not that good at all. I really failed it!

Now that my posts are up to date, I am going to jump on the treadmill for a few miles of walking.

3 thoughts on “My October, Day 23 — the step I take as a parent

    1. Cái tô này là theo kiểu tô của Nhật đó chị, có chổ gác đũa mà đũa loại nhỏ chứ đũa tre nhà em nhìn xấu ỉn hà

Comments are closed.