The English language baffles me

Teaching my six-year-old using irregular verbs. Here is an interesting part of the conversation. 

Me: Dude, you cannot write I catched the thief, it should be caught which is the correct past tense.

The Dude contested: But Mẹ, if the chicken hatched the egg, or if I matched my colors, then it should be catched

Me: dude, you are right, but the rules of the English language are …

As you might have guessed, I lost him after the rules because he was firmed of his rationale on using catched. I don’t blame him, as he is also learning to defend with legitimate reasoning. It’s just whoever established the English language centuries ago did not think about the confusion for those learning English as second language. Couldn’t they make it easy and reasonably convenient to not have the irregularities? 

I apologize for the complaint because I am not a linguistic expert and these nuances have been tough for me. Now that i am teaching a new language learner, I feel the need to understand these rules in the most simplistic forms so that I can better explain to his curiosity. 

Even with 26 years of language immersion, English is still my second language, and it still baffles me at times like this. 

Posted in me

4 thoughts on “The English language baffles me

  1. I’m with you and it’s all I know (outside of the Spanish cursing I’ve picked up along the way😜) The English language, especially when written is filled with nonsense!

  2. if you look up the etymology of the verb, it might help explain the behaviors. of irregular verbs. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/English_irregular_verbs

    in the future, catch might just be past tensed as catched if we have a dictator in the US who wants to “simplify” the language…. Or the next president decides to say “catched” as in the case w “normalcy” … tell PP he can strive to be that president.

Comments are closed.