June 19 – the super salad

For three days straight, the four of us had this super salad for lunch. I mixed everything in large mixing bowl and went at it like cows grazing fresh grass. All ingredients were brought to us by my friend Linh who lives close to Monterey Market in Berkeley. We cannot find these at our local grocery stores so I guess I have to make a road trip to Berkeley if we want to eat this salad next week. I am quite disappointed of the local grocery stores in this town and I miss my stores, Whole Foods and Fresh Thymes, in Minnesota. 

Anyway, I call it the super salad. Everything was fresh and clean. It’s a detox for me after spending a week at my brother’s place and my eldest who was visiting from FL cook all kind of guilty-indulgence Vietnamese food. 

It’s been a week since we left Minnesota. 


Today we ventured out a bit to the other side of the mountain and then took a scenic route home by driving up and over the ridge. 

It was thrilling for the kids. They thought it was like riding a roller coaster. 

