America

9/11

It’s been 15 years.

I still remember where I was and how I felt on that day. I think most of us do. It’s a day that we cannot ever forget.

For many years I could not and still can’t seem to bring myself to rewatch those raw footages again. I swell up in tears seeing the faces of people trying to navigate the reality of their lives from that day forward. I cannot hold myself to seeing so many people suffering from just one event.

I don’t think I can do much of a grandeur scale to change this world, stop all the wars, and find homes for all lost children wandering corners of earth.

I only know how to teach my children to embrace diversity, to not let religions, races, and skin colors define who they are or dictate their prejudices. I hope that little lessons in our daily lives will help build a strong fort in their hearts to be compassionate and considerate of others.

Despite what’s going on in the current flow of political events, in my opinion, America is a great place already, especially for us immigrants who were rejected and mistreated by our own native countries, to find a safe shelter in this land of the free.

One thought on “America

Comments are closed.