oven slow bake miso salmon

I have no photo, but I like this dish very much so I put it here for me to remember.

Ingredients:

    4 pieces of salmon fillets, two-inch cut for each piece. I got mine at Trader Joe’s and they were skinless and precut for me.
    3 tbsp sweet miso paste (normal miso is fine, too!)
    2 tbsp white wine (or rice wine, or sake). I ran out of rice wine so I used white wine, Pinot Grigino, that I got from Trader’s Joe for making caper sauce.
    2 tbsp of mirin
    1 tbsp sesame oil
    1 tbsp of soy sauce

Put all of these together and mix well into a paste.

Wash salmon under cold running water, then pat dry. Use a wide pyrex bowl to marinate the mixed miso paste above. Massage the paste to cover all surface of each piece of salmon. Cover and rest the salmon pieces for about 30 minutes if you don’t have time. I let mine sit for three hours yesterday. I also make sure to flip the pieces so that all of them got equal time in the miso bath.

Heat oven to 275F. Take salmon out and let the paste drip off, I pat the salmon fillets gently dry with paper towel.

Pan-sear the salmon in a skillet, about one minute per side with medium heat, to brown first before putting into the oven for slow bake. You can skip this part if you want. It’s optional.

I use parchment paper to cover baking tray, then put salmon face up once oven is ready.

Slow bake salmon for 25 minutes. When time is done, brush some mixed miso paste on top and then slow bake again for another 10 minutes or so.

I researched that slow bake will help retain moisture of the salmon. And since Mr. O does not like pink in the middle, but must complete cook flesh, I use slow-bake method to get that brown top and at the same time bring the meat to complete done-ness without internal dryness.

Miso pesto sauce that is so good to pair with the salmon dish above. I also use it as a dip to eat with pretzels earlier today.

    1 tbsp of sweet miso paste
    a cup of cilantro leaves, chopped
    3-4 cloves of peeled garlic
    one lime or lemon, juice
    half a cup of olive oil
    two tbsp of sesame seeds, fresh or toasted are fine. Use pine nuts if you have them.

Put miso paste, cilantro, garlics, lemon/lime juice, and sesame seeds in the blender and blend into a thick paste.

Drizzle olive oil and continue to blend and thin out the paste into a texture of your liking. I like mine a little lemony so I blended more lemon juice afterward 😀

One thought on “oven slow bake miso salmon

Comments are closed.